I’m in the process of re-reading Nalini Singh’s Psy/Changeling series for the 3rd time. Usually, I dislike re-reading books but this series is my first exception. This is telling about how talented this author is for me to feel the compulsion to grab and explore again and again this series. Mrs. Singh has truly created an ensemble series, scattering pieces and hints throughout each book that make sense in several later books. So I need to re-read and try to catch the clues I missed before.

Today, I was trying to imagine what cardinal eyes could look like. But my imagination wasn’t providing me appealing visuals. I kept picturing the kind of black demonic eyes (no whites, just wholly black) we see in TV shows with evil creatures or possessed humans.

And then, I stumbled upon this page:
http://www.boredpanda.com/blind-owl-starry-eyes-zeus-wildlife-learning-center/
And so I went to the source site:
http://www.wildlifelearningcenter.org/zeus-the-blind-owl/

My goodness! This owl’s eyes are stunningly beautiful!
rescued-blind-owl-zeus-5.jpg

I couldn’t believe it at first. It is a bit sad that Zeus is blind but at the same time, it’s heartwarming that he was rescued and can now live protected, safe and sound. It’s not freedom. But in the wild, this “defective” creature would have died long ago due to its handicap.

Now, I can better understand the stupefaction and fascination and wonder the characters in the Psy/Changeling series must feel when looking into cardinal eyes…